Preferred Roofing Reviews

These reviews are duplicated from review sites online for your convenience.  All reviews, good and bad, are listed here.  We have not edited the content of these reviews.  Click on these links to visit these review sources:

yelp-icon angies-list-reviewer bbb-review-icon

Angie’s List Registered Member #15

08/05/2014
The guys from preferred did an outstanding job of demolishing my old roofing and disposing of it.  Then the replaced any damaged plywood and reroofed the entire house.  They also referred me to people who could replace my old skylights, facia boards and rain gutters.  They left the place very clean when they finished and resolved a minor incident immediately.  The incident involved a wire from the AC that was old and deteriorating getting disconnected during the demolition.  When my AC guy came in and fixed the AC problem, the guys from preferred reroofed over the penetration that had to be made by the AC folks.

The one real advantage of using preferred is that Dave (the owner) is a certified roofing inspector with the county of Los Angeles.  That means that Dave is qualified to self inspect the job to close out the permit, which means that there is no waiting for the inspector to stop by and sign off.

They were in and out of my 2200 sq ft house in 3 days.

All in all, I think Dave and the crew did an outstanding job and I would recommend them to anyone for roofing work.

Description of work:
demolished old roof, replaced damaged plywood sheeting, replaced roof, replaced flashings added attic vents

  • Overall: A
  • Price: A
  • Quality: A
  • Responsiveness: A
  • Punctuality: A
  • Professionalism: A
  • Category: Roofing
  • Services PerformedYes
  • Work Completed Date: 07/06/2014
  • Hire Again: Yes

Review Source:  Angie's List
Angie’s List Registered Member #14

08/28/2014

  • Overall: A
  • Price: B
  • Quality: A
  • Responsiveness: A
  • Punctuality: A
  • Professionalism: A
  • Category: Roofing
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Work Completed Date: 08/18/2014
  • Hire Again: Yes

Review Source:  Angie's List
Angie’s List Registered Member #13

10/13/2014
Our house was in need of a brand-new roof.we had talk to one other company to get a bed. However, what we found was, that some companies do not always include everything in the bed. Not with preferred roofing. The owner himself came out to do the estimate. He was extremely professional he explained everything to us. I should also say, I am visually impaired, so he was very descriptive, and read to me all the forms that I would need to sign if I were to go with this company. He showed me all of the licenses, and explain what they were.explained in great detail what kind of roof he would recommend and why. After going over everything, he gave me an estimate of what the job would cost. He also explained, that there might be some additional charges and he listed what they would before. So, I decided to go with this company. And, I’m very happy I did. The people who installed my roof when not only very friendly, but they did a thorough job. This company does not contract out.their own employees. After each day of the job, everything was clean and put back to the way it was. I would definitely recommend preferred roofing to anyone who needs a new roof. If I ever need another roof, I will definitely be calling them.
Description of work:
This company repairs and installs only roofs. They are licensed bonded and insured.

  • Overall: A
  • Category: Roofing
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Work Completed Date: 10/13/2014
  • Hire Again: Yes

Review Source:  Angie's List
Angie’s List Registered Member #12

11/08/2014
They showed up on time each day
It took a day longer than projected
It looks outstanding and yes I will recommend to all my friends
They were extremely professional
Dave was very good in presenting all the options and the right way to do it.
We discussed vents and solar fans
Description of work:
Put a new roof on my house

  • Overall: A
  • Price: A
  • Quality: A
  • Responsiveness: B
  • Punctuality: A
  • Professionalism: A
  • Category: Roofing
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Work Completed Date:  10/15/2014
  • Hire Again: Yes

Review Source:  Angie's List
Angie’s List Registered Member #11

01/24/2015

During the last rain we discovered we needed a new roof when we noticed there was a waterfall in our kitchen.
One of the company’s we contracted was Preferred Roofing Inc. and they came out immediately.  Their bid was extremely fair so we hired them on the spot and are we glad we did.  It was a three day job.  The workers were there early each morning and worked the whole day.

Having the roof leak had caused some other problems.  Turns out we had some wood rot in several areas.  At first I thought I can’t handle another problem.  Well I didn’t have to. Preferred Roofing Inc. helped us find a contractor to do the replacement work.  I was very grateful that they were there to help us with this issue.

It was a very professional group of men. From the office staff to the workers they answered every question we had.  When they finished the project there was no sign of them being here.  The cleanup was incredible.  They even had a large magnet that they went over the yard with to be sure all old nails were picked up.
Preferred Roofing Inc. is being put into our permanent home repairs file.  If anyone I know ever needs a roof I’ll have their phone number at my finger tips.
Thanks to everyone from Preferred Roofing Inc. for all the help they gave us.
Sincerely,
Sue and Jeffery

Description of work: Total replacement of old roof.

  • Overall: A
  • Price: A
  • Quality: A
  • Responsiveness: A
  • Punctuality: A
  • Professionalism: A
  • Category: Roofing
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Work Completed Date:
  • Hire Again: Yes

Review Source:  Angie's List
Angie’s List Registered Member #10

04/13/2015
Preferred Roofing is a great Company. They are very confident, knowledgeable and available.
The workers were on time every day and kept my property clean of nails and debris.
The roof looks amazing. All of the vents and skylights seem to be happy too.
The only thing that would make me happier with Preferred is if they had a painting division!!
Great job guys!
Description of work:
Replaced my entire roof – paper and shingles.
Waterproofed/flashed six skylights.
Replaced rotted wood where necessary.

  • Overall: A
  • Price: A
  • Quality: A
  • Responsiveness: B
  • Punctuality: A
  • Professionalism: A
  • Category: Roofing
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Work Completed Date: 03/23/2015
  • Hire Again: Yes

Review Source:  Angie's List
Angie’s List Registered Member #7

Description of work:

Everything that we wanted was done. Very satisfied with the work, workmanship, and specially knowing that it’s done right the first time

  • Category: Roofing
  • Services Performed: No
  • Work Completed Date:
  • Hire Again: Yes

Review Source:  Angie's List
Angie’s List Registered Member #9

Description of work:

Sale and final inspection were made by the company president. They were extra careful with our relatively new driveway. They were prompt and courteous and explained everything carefully when we asked questions.
|
|This was a total tear off of asphalt and prior wood shake so noise was unavoidable. However they did everything they could to minimize it. The crew cleaned up daily. When completed, They did an extremely thorough job of clean up of the property and of the inside of the garage.

  • Category: Roofing
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Work Completed Date:
  • Hire Again: Yes

Review Source:  Angie's List
Angie’s List Registered Member #6

Extremely professional job – from initial bid to completion definitely recommend.

Description of work:

Tile reset & removed all existing field and trim tiles and stacked on roof deck. Removed and disposed of existing underlayment. Installed new underlayment, Pipe flashings, valley meters, drip edge, bird stop and all tiles.

  • Category: Roofing
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Work Completed Date:
  • Hire Again: Yes

Review Source:  Angie's List
Angie’s List Registered Member #5

Description of work:

Steve and Dave were great! All workers came on time and completed our roof in a few days as promised. We are very pleased with the results.

  • Category: Roofing
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Hire Again: Yes

Review Source:  Angie's List
Angie’s List Registered Member #4

They shown up for the initial appt on time & in work when it was scheduled. The took re the out on for tubs, the workers were very courteous & did great work.

Description of work: Removed and disposed of 3 layers of roofing. Installed new underlayment. New pipe & vent flashings, new composition shingles and tuin.

  • Category: Roofing
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Work Completed Date:
  • Hire Again: Yes

Review Source:  Angie's List
Angie’s List Registered Member #3

It went just as planned. Crew did a great job with clean up each day. Work was explained in detail every step of the way. I now have the nicest roof in the neighborhood.

Description of work: Complete new roof.

  • Category: Roofing
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Work Completed Date:
  • Hire Again: Yes

Review Source:  Angie's List
Angie’s List Registered Member #2

I found that this company was the most thorough and the most competent we’ve considered using. They were also very great communicators. The service went excellently!

Description of work: They completely put on a new roof on a triplex I owned.

Review Source:  Angie's List
Angie’s List Registered Member #1

Description of work:

They removed and disposed of existing materials, replaced quit a bit of rotted wood and installed new underlayment and shingles.

  • Category: Roofing
  • Services Performed: Yes
  • Work Completed Date:
  • Hire Again: Yes

Review Source:  Angie's List
Mary W. Porter Ranch, CA

Preferred Roofing did a great job on my comp roof. I was happy with the work and the guys were all very polite.

Review Source:  Yelp
Diana D.

6/28/2009

These guys know their roofs (rooves?)  David Paine and all of his crew are honest, hardworking and skilled craftsmen.

I was amazed when David, the owner himself, showed up to do the estimate.   He was through and patiently explained everything to me, as well as how some other people make shortcuts without telling the homeowner.  He provided all of his documentation and licenses, references and more without being asked.  His estimate was fair, and below others I had seen.

The crew showed up on time the first day, with David there himself to oversee the start of demolition of the old roof.  I was sick the entire time they were there, a period of several days.  These guys did the best they could to tiptoe around me the whole time.  Every day, they were on time or early, they worked hard in hot weather, they took care of my car and belongings, they cleaned up everything they could, and were cheerful and nice.

I have NEVER seen a construction crew so professional, clean and nice.  David checked with his crew DAILY, but didn’t need to, the head guy was on top of everything.  They even built a little tent to protect my herb garden from debris!

The roof is wonderful, strong, well built, and lovely to behold from down the street.  It will last me a very long time, I know.  If I have any problems, I know who will handle it!

These guys are the best roofers in LA!

Review Source:  Yelp
Mark L. Santa Monica, CA

11/5/2013

I just had David and Preferred Roofing replace the entire roof on my house this week.

I would give them 5 stars on the work on the actual roof, but am docking them one star because of the mess created in our garage. See longer explanation below.

Postive things about Preferred Roofing:
-David showed up himself for the estimate, to start the job and to check the job
-I believe David is straightforward, honest and does his best to make the customer happy
-The roof looks great
-The quality of the craftsmanship is top-notch
-Don’t expect them to touch anything accept for the roof. No skylight. No gutters. No rafters. No construction of any sort – just the roof. David refers people for these jobs and I really like everyone that he referred.
-Preferred is expensive but I went with them because of the quality, and because they guarantee their work and are fully insured (like most reputable companies)
-I believe the roof should hopefully last well for many years.

We had two problems and David made a solid effort to resolve both. The first resolution was fully satisfactory to me and the second resolution was not really satisfactory to me (the garage is a disaster!) but I understand David’s position.

The garage issue: Apparently David had told me when he came out that the garage would get dirty. I don’t remember him stating this, but it was several months ago so perhaps he did, perhaps he didn’t. Also there was supposed to be paperwork in my booklet telling me about this, but when I pulled out and showed him our booklet today, he said those pages were not there.

Here’s what happened: The roof was old so there is a massive amount of debris that fell into the garage and it will literally take us days to clean up. His workers came in with a blower which mostly just spread the dust around. He gave me $100 off so I can hire a cleaning crew which is helpful but won’t even come close to helping us clean everything as literally every single item in the garage needs to wiped down with a damp cloth.

I really think that David and his team should have made it much more clear just how much debris was going to fall into our garage. David, please take note of this and make sure that your future customers with old roofs like mine are better aware of this issue because it creates a tremendous hassle.You should also add in the option to sell your customers plastic to cover belongings in the garage (or attic). You work on roofs every day and this was my first roofing experience so I had no idea this would happen but from your comments today, you seemed fully aware that it would happen. Thanks for the $100 off, but for the sake of your future customers, prevent the problem beforehand.

Review Source:  Yelp
L.T., Pacific Palisades, CA

11/23/2015

In this time of El Nino getting a roof was challenging. Wanting a roof before the rains began looking grim after being given a 2-month waiting period. After getting an estimate from David, things were looking up. I liked the way David handled himself while going over the property, estimate and pricing. I had already done my homework and knew this was a company with good reviews, in good standing with the Better Business Bureau, and had high ratings on Angie’s list and was a preferred contractor on the Owen Corning’s web-site.  Being patient was a necessary evil and I was praying that the promises made by Preferred Roofing were going to stand-up.

Getting that call from Steve to tell us our date was coming up was exciting and timely, 2-months. Steve did a great job of keeping in touch to let us know we were not being forgotten, which was so appreciated. Steve also coordinated skylight and gutter contractors that were referred by them. Steve was always a pleasure to speak with on the phone. He was a great problem solver, too.

When the guys came out to start on our new roof it was a whirlwind. I couldn’t believe how quickly it happened. 2 days to take off the old and put on the new with vents and new drains to match the new roof. It went so smoothly, the guys who worked on the roof should be commended for a job well done and great clean-up each day. After the guys left I was admiring my new roof and noticed they missed a spot…a little snag in a what was such a great experience to date. I called Steve immediately and he said he would handle it: And handle it he did. The guys would have turned around if they had enough material on the truck to finish the job, but they didn’t. But they came out the following week and took care of it in 30 minutes. The nicest company to do business with.

I know they have more work than they know what to do with in this El Nino Season, but I have been referring them to my friends and neighbors. If they can do this great a job in such busy times, imagine the service you would get in a slow season. Job well done by all!! Thank you Preferred Roofing.

Review Source:  Yelp
Leo C. Los Angeles, CA

7/18/2015

1. The estimate- We knew when we purchased the home we would need a new roof soon. The challenge with our old roof was that the bottom layer was wood shingles and was completely outdated. Previous owners had placed several layers on top that had worn down to the bone. After getting many estimates I was not satisfied with what other contractors were offering. Yes, I did find better prices, but what I was getting was cheaper material and lack of guaranteed work. A home is usually your biggest purchase. There are two things that stand out with a home… the foundation on which it is built and the roof that covers all of your valuables. That being said my wife and I had no desire to cut corners. David was very clear on what needed to be done and why his price was the way it was. Integrity & character are things that I stand by, so when I see a company that operates with those qualities, they will earn my business and Preferred Roofing did just that.

2. On the job- The estimate was a 3 1/2 day job and they exceeded that by completing it in 3 days. Everyday the workers were on time, but what stood out is having David there on day 1 to start the project. His workers, busted their butts to tear off the old roof and I’m here to tell you that was one tough job. After each day they did a really good job of cleaning up. That was important to me because I have 3 young kids and a dog that I didn’t want around a bunch of debris. They even cleaned the mess from my neighbors yard that ended up over there from the tear off. But what stood out most was the attention to detail on the roof. From the ridge caps, to the vents, sealing around my chimney, etc… All I have to say is our roof is the talk of the cul-da-sac now and I’m sure they will earn some business because of it!

3. The final inspection- Seeing David smile and knowing he’s passionate about what he does was awesome. You can tell he takes pride in making customers happy! During the inspection I asked if I could get on the roof with him, I’m glad I did because I was truly able to appreciate all the work that was done. I had been on the old roof many times and I would cringe every time it rained (which is not much in LA).  But today, July 18, 2015 when I saw the rain clouds forming I no longer had to cringe because I had a new roof by a company I had grown to trust.

Now, I will close this by saying that this company is more than just David! You will also be dealing with Steve, who was absolutely wonderful and professional as well. He took the time over the phone to make sure my wife and I were taken care of.  I don’t know each of his workers by name, but they should be honored as well. I’m truly thankful that I decided to go with Preferred Roofing. They’re the only roofing company I will refer from now on.

Review Source:  Yelp
Matt W. Los Angeles, CA

4/5/2015

I’ve heard a lot of nightmares from a lot of friends and neighbors regarding their roofing experiences so I wanted to make sure that I picked the right guys for the job. After talking with several companies comparing quotes I decided to use Preferred Roofing because of their professionalism,  knowledge,  and honesty. My roof had a lot of obstacles and they had the know how to get it done right.

Thanks Dave & Steve, you are the best!

Review Source:  Yelp
Nicole B. Granada Hills, CA

7/27/2016

Preferred Roofing completed our new roof after we experienced significant wind damage. Our roof was in bad shape both from the wind damage and because it had been very poorly installed by the previous owner of our home. David, the owner, was very upfront with us and thoroughly explained all of the details of the roofing process. He made us feel confident that his company was the right choice for the job. His staff made the process painless and stress free. Steve at Preferred Roofing even offered to deal with our Solar Company to schedule and work out the details of removing our solar panels and reinstalling them after the job was complete. This was such a nice touch and really took the hassle and stress off our hands. They were also very accommodating in working around our vacation schedule when it was time to install the roof. Steve kept in contact with us before, during and after the job was done to make sure everything ran smoothly. The crew ran into some unexpected problems once they tore off our old roof but Steve notified us immediately and the team quickly made a plan to fix the problem and make sure that the new roof was installed perfectly. These problems did result in additional charges but it was what needed to be done in order to correct the horrible way our old roof had been installed and bring everything up to code and up their high standards. They crew was extremely courteous and did a great job cleaning up after themselves every day before they went home. After the installation of the new roof was complete, David returned for a final walk through and provide all of our paperwork. He also provided the DWP rebate paperwork (that they had pre-filled in with all important information) and explained exactly how to finish it up and send it off to submit for the rebate. We are very happy with the new roof and so relieved that we will not have to deal with any roof problems again for the next 30+ years hopefully!

Review Source:  Yelp
Jennifer L. Thousand Oaks, CA

1/7/2016
Preferred Roofing completed our new roof (a tile reset with new underlayment) just prior to the first El Nino storm that came in this week.  We knew our roof was past its life span and decided to replace it in advance of anticipated heavy rains.  I called Preferred in September and discovered that we weren’t the first homeowners to be thinking ahead – – – there was an approximately 12 week wait (which I soon discovered was the current timetable for high quality roofers with the looming high rains).  David Payne, the owner of Preferred Roofing, assured me that they were working around the clock to complete everyone’s roofs and were working in order of signed contracts (irregardless of prospective customer pleading).  He told me that if the rains came before my work started and I had any leaks they would come out and tarp as needed.

The crew that installed our roof was professional, hardworking and took excellent care of the house – – we have new rain gutters and they were untouched during the project..  The job foreman was communicative and informative.  We were especially impressed with the daily cleanup around the house – – care was taken to remove nails and other materials that fell during the removal process.  When the job was done the rain gutters were cleaned out.

Highly recommend Preferred Roofing!

Review Source:  Yelp
Debra G. West Hills, CA

12/14/2015

With the threat of El Nino rapidly approaching, my husband and I realized we could no longer postpone replacing our dilapidated roof.  We did our homework on Yelp and Angie’s List, and got bids from six contractors. Luckily for us, one of the roofing companies we contacted was Preferred Roofing Co.

David Payne, the owner of Preferred Roofing, came out himself to do our estimate. He was straightforward, personable, and most of all, deeply knowledgeable about roofing.  He explained every aspect in depth with us — including a soft spot on our roof that no other contractor mentioned.  We were impressed, and made the decision on the spot to hire Preferred Roofing Co. despite the fact  that it was not the least expensive bid we received.

The eight week wait to get our roof handled was worth the result.  The entire Preferred Roofing team worked closely with us, especially Steve, who served as David’s right hand.  Any question we had was promptly answered, and our phone calls were always returned.  The company also referred us to a superb skylight expert (after explaining to us that skylight installation requires specialists, not roofing contractors trying to do a job they aren’t really experienced enough to do…).

When the time came to do the roof, we were stunned about how quickly it went to transform our home from rundown to glowing with a beautiful brand new roof featuring nearly invisible vents.  The crew not only did a masterful job above the ground, but also made sure that every piece of debris on the ground was thoroughly cleaned up every day.  When we noticed that one of our original high profile vents was still on the roof, David explained that it was his decision to leave that particular vent to provide the home with even more ventilation to keep the house cooler during the hot Burbank summer.  Then he sent his excellent crew out to paint the vent a slightly lighter color to better match the new roofing.  And much to our delight, David also gave us a significant refund, because he wound up using less plywood than he originally estimated would be needed.

These days, honesty and customer service are getting harder and harder to find.  David Payne and his team at Preferred Roofing Company are shining examples of people who do their work with integrity and real skill.  If you need to have your roof replaced, look no further than Preferred Roofing Co.–you’ll be in great hands, and will be delighted with the result!

Review Source:  Yelp
Elaine S. Los Angeles, CA

8/16/2016

We had a major problem with a previous roofing company, so we were already “gun shy”!  Dave Paine, the owner of Preferred Roofing Company, made us feel at ease about our choosing his company and we were confident that we made the right decision to go with Preferred.  The men working on the job showed up on time, took a short lunch, and were back at it in the heat of the day (98-105 degrees)!  Prior to them leaving the job each day, they blew off all debris, swept up nails, etc. and hauled it away.  Never leaving a mess!

Because our job was a tile relay, and the tiles were over 40 years old and many were different sizes, it wasn’t an easy job.  In some areas we were concerned about the straightness of the tiles. We called the office with regard to this problem, and Steve was quick to come to our home, and explain to us what was happening, showing us the irregular tiles, and why when relayed on the roof they appeared wavy.   The following day David came by, and even took us to see some similar tile roofs that were having the same issues.  They wanted us to be happy with their work and were going to do everything they could to make it right. We were satisfied with the outcome.

In a heart beat, Preferred Roofing Company, would be my first choice to contact and I will definitely give family and friends their name if they need a professional roofer!

Review Source:  Yelp